The latest in LGBT youth political activism


Events hosted or sponsored by Youth First Texas


Top editorial stories submitted by youth and volunteers


Top stories featuring YFT, youth, or volunteers


The latest and greatest news from Youth First Texas

Home » Past Directors

Past Directors

Youth First Texas recognizes the work and dedication of its past directors.  While this list is far from complete given the organization’s diverse history and growth, we honor those directors who have served during over a decade of commitment to the LGBTQ youth of Texas.

TJ Wilson (2008-1012)
TJ has been an international Flight Attendant with American Airlines for over thirty years, providing service and safety for his passengers, whether they are youth or happen to be adults who act like youth. He has been active on non-profit boards in both North Carolina and Texas for over twenty years, with his most recent tenures as an Advisory Member of the Black Tie Dinner’s board and as a board member for Youth First Texas.  During his tenure on the YFT board, TJ served as the co-chair of the board of directors.

Feleshia Porter (2007-2011)
Feleshia Porter is a Licensed Professional Counselor in private practice who has been serving the Dallas LGBT community in various capacities for over thirty years and is well known for her experience providing counseling services for the transgender community.  Feleshia came to Youth First Texas with previous board of directors experience with Razzle Dazzle Dallas, the Oak Lawn Art Festival, Extra Mile Awards and the HRC Fairway to Equality golf tournament.  During her tenure on the YFT board, Felishia served as the board secretary.

Oliver Blumer (2008-2011)
Oliver Blumer is a licensed chiropractic physician who has been involved in the Dallas LGBT community for over thirty years.  Oliver served on the board of directors for The Womens Chorus of Dallas, was a founding member of Mosaic and sang with the community chorus Resounding Harmony.  During his tenure on the YFT board, Oliver served as the chair and co-chair of the human development & social services committee.  Oliver’s work in the LGBT non-profit world continues as he currently serves as the vice chair of the board of directors for the Transgender Education Network of Texas (TENT).

Chris Hendrix (2010-2011)
Chris Hendrix is a certified professional accountant who served a number of terms on the YFT board of directors during the lifetime of the organization.  He previously served on the YFT board in the position of vice-president and president before taking a year off and returned to the board as the fund raising chair.

James Nunn (2010-2011)
James Nunn works for Big Brothers Big Sisters.  His previous LGBT non-profit experience included the Victorian AIDS Council / Gay Men’s Health Center, Frisco Pride, the Collin County Gay and Lesbian Alliance and the Triangle Foundation (formerly the Collin Equality Foundation).

Jo Bess Jackson (2011)
Jo Bess Jackson is a Dallas-area estate planning attorney with specialized experience in the estate planning needs of the LGBT community.  Jo Bess is a member of the Dallas Gay and Lesbian Bar Association and formerly was the chair and general counsel for the Women’s Business Network.  Jo Bess’ work in the LGBT non-profit world continues as she currently serves on the board of directors for the Legal Hospice of Texas.

Wesley Summers (2011)

Lee Dewey (2010-2011)

Loras Friehoefer (2007-2010)

Cathy Gonzalez (2008-2010)

David Grelle (2008-2010)

Chad Ottosen (2009-2010)

Steven Toon (2009-2010)